Text reads, “adoption is not a cure” and two wooden figurines are standing side to side. In one, there’s a hole in the shape of a small child. The child figurine is standing apart from the two ‘adults’.
Created in Canva by K. Bron Johnson 2023

Adoption is Not a Cure for Infertility

KBronJohn

--

Infertility is one issue.

Adoption is another.

Adoption does not cure your emotional issues surrounding fertility (if you have them).

Adoption is not a cure for anything, in fact. It does not solve the societal failings that allowed it to be necessary to begin with.
It’s the last best option before many others should be tried, to do what is best for the life of a child.

Adoption is a way to form a new family, and one does not need to be infertile to adopt.

It may also surprise some that I am against adoption unless it is really, absolutely necessary, and if I could go back in time, I would not have agreed to a closed adoption.

I am fundamentally opposed to taking children out of their native lands, cultures, languages, and communities.

But reality being what it is, and society being what it is, we don’t always have better solutions.

I want to make it clear I do not regret adopting my child. I just have issues with the systems we are living and operating under, that harm so many.

--

--

KBronJohn

Kelly Bron Johnson is an Autistic and HoH self-advocate, author, and Inclusion and Accessibility Advisor for her social enterprise, Completely Inclusive.